Minutes



Council

Date: 17 May 2016

Time: 5.00 pm

- Present: The Mayor: Councillors H Thomas (part 1) and D Atwell (part 2) in the Chair. Councillors: O Ali, R Bright, J Cleverly, P Cockeram, M Cornelious, K Critchley, D Davies, V Delahaye, C Evans, M Evans, C Ferris, D Fouweather, G Giles, J Guy, D Harvey, I Hayat, P Huntley, R Hutchings, R Jeavons, M Kellaway, M Linton, D Mayer, S Mlewa, R Mogford, R Poole, J Mudd, M Rahman, J Richards, M Spencer, C Suller, T Suller, H Thomas (Chair), K Thomas, R Truman, T Watkins, M Whitcutt, R White, D Wilcox and D Williams
- Apologies: Councillors M Al-Nuiami, T Bond, E Corten, E Garland, P Hannon, C Jenkins, C Maxfield, A Morris and K Whitehead

1. Preliminaries

The Mayor referred to the very sad loss of a friend and Councillor colleague, Councillor Ed Townsend. Members, officers and visitors stood in silence in memory of Councillor Townsend

2. Appointment of the Leader of the Council

Councillor Deborah Wilcox was appointed as Leader of the Council.

The Leader of the Council announced that the Cabinet she had appointed would comprise:

Deputy Leader and Cabinet Member for Environment, Sustainability and Transport Cabinet Member for Education & Young People Cabinet Member for Finance and Resources CM for Community Services, Work and Skills Cabinet Member for Regulatory Functions Cabinet Member for Regeneration & Investment Cabinet Member for Adult Social Services & Housing Cabinet Member for Culture, Leisure and Sport and Business Manager

Cllr Ray Truman Cllr Gail Giles Cllr Mark Whitcutt Cllr Roger Jeavons Cllr Robert Poole Cllr John Richards Cllr Paul Cockeram

Cllr Deborah Harvey

3. Appointments

Opposition Spokespersons:

Councillor M. Evans announced that he would act as Leader of the Opposition. Opposition spokespersons would be as follows:

Deputy Leader Education & Young People Community Services, Work & Skills Regeneration & Investment Regulatory Functions Environment, Sustainability & Transport Adult Social Services & Housing Culture, Leisure & Sport Finance & Resources Cllr Margaret Cornelious Cllr David Williams Cllr Tom Suller Cllr Martyn Kellaway Cllr Margaret Cornelious Cllr Richard White Cllr David Fouweather Cllr Charles Ferris Cllr Ray Mogford

Chairs of Committees:

Following nominations by the Leader of the Council and, where appropriate by the Leader of the Opposition the following appointments were agreed by the Council:

Chair of Planning Committee: Councillor Paul Huntley

Chair of Licensing Committee: Councillor Cliff Suller

Scrutiny Committee for Learning Caring and Leisure: Councillor John Guy to be Chair

Scrutiny Committee for Street Scene, Regeneration and Safety: Councillor Omar Ali to be chair.

Scrutiny Committee for Community Planning and Development: Councillor David Williams to be chair.

Democratic Services Committee: Councillor Charles Ferris to be Chair

(Councillors Huntley, Suller, Guy, Ali, Williams and Ferris each declared an interest in this item and did not vote on the specific appointments)

Committees and Outside Bodies

Councillor Wilcox announced that appointments of members to the committees and to outside bodies will be passed to the proper officer and recorded in the minutes (See the appendix to these minutes)

Councillor M Evans also announced that appointments of members to the committees will be passed to the proper officer and recorded in the minutes (See the appendix to these minutes)

Governors:

The following were agreed:

- Bassaleg School: Cllr Tom Bond re-appointed
- Duffryn High School; Cllr Omar Ali
- Kimberley Nursery: Cllr Paul Cockeram
- Liswerry Primary : Cllr Debbie Harvey
- Millbrook Primary: Sarah Craven
- Mount Pleasant Primary: Tom Bond re- appointed
- Ringland Primary: Tim Harvey

4. Members Code of Conduct

The Monitoring Officer reported that The Local Authorities (Model Code of Conduct) (Wales) Amendment Order 2016 has amended the mandatory provisions of the current Members Code of Conduct.

The Council was required to formally adopt this new Model Code of Conduct before 26th June 2016. All elected members and voting co-opted members of the Council would be automatically bound by the revised Code of Conduct following its adoption and there is no requirement for members to sign a fresh declaration or undertaking to abide by the revised Code.

The main changes were set out in the report. The Monitoring Officer reported that, for the most part, the revisions to the previous model Code of Conduct are technical in nature and reflect changes introduced by the Local Government (Democracy) (Wales) Act 2013 ("the 2013 Act") but there are some substantive changes which clarify previous uncertainty regarding conflicts of interest, reporting of misconduct and registration of interests.

Resolved

To formally adopt the new Model Code of Conduct

5. Adjournment

The meeting adjourned following the above items of business and reconvened for the following items at 5.30 pm

6. Election of the Mayor

It was proposed by the Leader of the Council and seconded by Councillor M Evans and unanimously:

Resolved

That Councillor David Atwell is elected as the Mayor of the City of Newport for the ensuing year. Councillor Atwell, having made and subscribed the Declaration of Acceptance of Office and taken the Official Oath and Oath of Allegiance, expressed thanks for the honour conferred upon him.

Vote of Thanks

It was proposed by the Mayor and seconded by the Leader of the Council and unanimously

Resolved

That the Council's thanks be given to Councillor Cliff Herbie Thomas and Ms Jacqueline Mitchell for the manner in which they had discharged the duties as Mayor and Mayoress.

Response

Councillor Herbie Thomas congratulated the Mayor on his election. He expressed pride in serving the City as Mayor.

He mentioned in particular the support he has received from Sian Isgrove, his PA and Ms Sue Griffiths. He also thanked the Chauffeurs and made particular mention of the

contribution of Mr Peter Howells who was retiring from his role as Chauffeur after the Annual Meeting

Councillor Thomas thanked his chaplain and referred to the teamwork that had helped in his successful year. He mentioned the wonderful people from all walks of life he and the Mayoress had met in the past year. He described a number of highlights of his year and mentioned the good times he and the Mayoress had enjoyed.

Councillor Thomas thanked Councillor Kate Thomas and Dr Worden for their support as Deputy Mayor and Deputy Mayoress over the past 12 months.

Councillor Thomas thanked his son and family for their support and paid particular tribute to his Mayoress, Ms Jacqueline Mitchell.

7. Appointment of the Deputy Mayor

It was proposed by the Mayor, seconded by the Leader of the Opposition and unanimously

Resolved

That Councillor David Fouweather is appointed Deputy Mayor for the ensuing year. Councillor Fouweather, having made and subscribed the Declaration of Acceptance for the role of Deputy Mayor expressed thanks for his appointment.